Board of Trustees elects new regents

Elections of new regents by the University’s Board of Trustees occurred on October 11. Those elected by the trustees to serve six-year terms on the Board of Regents are Dr. Joseph B. DeLozier III, C’77; the Rev. Dr. Nancee Lea Martin, T’08; Margaret P. McLarty; and the Rt. Rev. Dr. Dabney Tyler Smith, H’08.

Dr. Joseph B. DeLozier III, C’77, is a plastic surgeon in Nashville, where he has sponsored medical internships for Sewanee students for 19 summers. He is the parent of Jan Stallings DeLozier, C’16. DeLozier is chief of plastic surgery at Saint Thomas Midtown Hospital and assistant clinical professor at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. He has served Sewanee in numerous ways, including on the Capital Campaign Cabinet, Greek Alumni Council, and Golf Course Renovation Advisory Committee. He has worked with Operation Smile and the Face Forward program (which offers facial reconstruction at no charge to children in the Southeast).

The Rev. Dr. Nancee Martin earned both her master of divinity (2000) and doctor of ministry (2008) degrees from Sewanee’s School of Theology. She is the rector of St. George Episcopal Church in Florida, and serves as president of the Diocesan Standing Committee, leader of New Clergy Program, and on the Board of Examining Chaplains, Pastoral Care Commission, and Commission on Ministry. Martin has been an Associated Alumni Trustee and a Diocesan Trustee, and chair of the Trustee Orientation and Development Committee. She is the parent of Lark, C’00; Lane, C’03; Laurel, C’07; Lawrence, C’10; and sons-in-law Dave Womack, C’02, and Tyler Bodine, C’08.

Margaret P. McLarty is an alumna of the University of Southern Mississippi and senior vice president–investment officer for Wells Fargo Advisors, LLC, in Jackson, Miss. She is the parent of Nathan Peters McLarty, C’09, and William A. McLarty, Jr., C’05, and has served as Lay Trustee from the Diocese of Mississippi and chair of the Trustee University Relations Committee. She was a member of the search committee for the 16th vice-chancellor, and is a former member of the Parents’ Council. McLarty has served as senior/junior warden at St. Andrew’s Cathedral; General Convention Deputy of the Diocese of Mississippi; and president of the Vergers’ Guild of the Episcopal Church.

The Rt. Rev. Dr. Dabney Smith, H’08, was first elected to the Board of Regents last year to fill a partial term. Smith has been bishop of the Diocese of Southwest Florida since 2007 and has served as a Bishop Trustee since then. As vice president of Province IV, he sits on the Presiding Bishop's Council of Advice. He was recently appointed by the Presiding Bishop to serve on the Standing Committee on Mission and Evangelism. In post-Katrina New Orleans, he served on the Jericho Road Episcopal Housing Initiative to create housing for hurricane victims. He previously served in Port Orange, Fla.; South Bend, Ind.; Melbourne, Fla.; and New Orleans, La.

The Rev. Dr. Donald Fishburne, C’73, T’98, and Caroline Hopper Haynes, C’81, completed their terms of service as regents, and Richard Barlow Wilkens III, C’69, completed a partial term. They were recognized for their service by the Board of Regents during their meeting last month.

The Board of Regents is the 20-member executive board of the University.