Eight Division III colleges form newly named Southern Athletic Association

SAA logo

Eight Division III southeastern colleges—including Sewanee—have joined together to form a new athletic conference beginning with the 2012‐13 season. The new conference will be named the Southern Athletic Association (SAA).

Spanning six states, the Southern Athletic Association also includes Birmingham‐Southern College in Alabama, Centre College in Kentucky, Hendrix College in Arkansas, Millsaps College in Mississippi, Oglethorpe University and Berry College in Georgia, and Rhodes College in Tennessee. The conference members were announced in June.

The Southern Athletic Association is committed to fostering athletic competition and cooperation among academically selective, residential liberal arts colleges located in the southeastern region of the United States. The geographic focus will result in reduced travel time and fewer missed classes, while still allowing for a strong conference of like‐minded institutions, all of which integrate competitive athletics into the whole of the student’s educational experience.

View all stories in Athletics 


Listing of both today’s and tomorrow’s events at Sewanee: The University of the South.
Field Hockey: Centre
Football: Millsaps
Volleyball: Hendrix
African Dance master class
New Moon Arts Fest
Let’s talk about it, Sewanee
Board Games Are Not Just For Children
At the SUT: Jersey Boys
SIDE BY SIDE BY SONDHEIM final performance
Women’s Soccer: Birmingham-Southern
Volleyball: Rhodes
KanDy Land with Kappa Delta and Girl Scouts of Tennessee
Men’s Soccer: Birmingham-Southern
At the SUT: Jersey Boys